Kiss Takes Race 2 Win After Lacko Penalty

5 October 2019

Norbert Kiss won in race two at Jarama after an action-packed 12-laps....


Adam Lacko received a 10-second penalty for an incident with Rene Reinert in Race 2. This means Lacko loses the win and Norbert Kiss takes his third win of 2019. Lacko drops to 6th, meaning that Albacete and Hahn place second and third in the amended result.

Adam Lacko initially won a delayed race two at Circuito Jarama today after an event packed full of incident.

The Buggyra Racing Freightliner driver had overtaken Jose Rodrigues on lap four with a forceful move to temporarily clinch his third win of the 2019 FIA ETRC season. However, after a post-race penalty Lacko dropped to sixth position after a 10-second penalty was applied.

Rodrigues had led away from the line at the second attempt but was soon but under intolerable pressure by a fired up Lacko who soon made the decisive race winning move.

For Lacko, it brought vital points in his battle with Antonio Albacete in the fight for second place in the championship standings. With two races remaining tomorrow the two are separated by just eight points

Lacko led home Tankpool24 Racing driver Norbert Kiss as the Hungarian ended his points drought which stretches back to Zolder last month.

Kiss applied massive pressure to Lacko in the second half of the race but was unable to make a clean move to challenge for the lead.

Completing the podium in race two was Antonio Albacete who fended off a charging race one winner Jochen Hahn. This pair fought ferociously, so much so that Sacha Lenz in fifth position closed on to their tails.

Jose Rodrigues, who fell back after relinquishing the lead to Lacko earlier in the race, took sixth place in his Reboconort MAN.

Steffi Halm had run third and looked set for a second podium of the day but she dropped back to the rear of the field after a mid-race excursion. The Team Schwabentruck IVECO driver slid off on oil dropped by Fabio Citignola's Tankpool24 Racing entry, damaging her truck and ruining her race.

Seventh saw another battle between Anthony Janiec’s Lion Truck Racing MAN and the Don’t Touch Racing IVECO of Andre Kursim. The battle was finalised in the favour Janiec but by just 0.5s.

Rene Reinert came back through the field to salvage something from the day with two points for ninth ahead of the final points scorer Oly Janes.

Janes was crowned 2019 GRAMMER TRUCK CUP champion after taking the win during an accomplished drive to 10th overall.

The GRAMMER TRUCK CUP podium was completed by Jose-Eduardo Rodrigues (Reboconort MAN) and Erwin Kleinnagelvoort (EK Race Scania).

Dominique Orsini was the final classified finisher in 14th place overall and fourth in GRAMMER, his best result of the season.

Luis Recuenco retired in the closing stages after apparent contact with Terry Gibbon’s T Sport MAN. While the British ended his race in the gravel, Recuenco crabbed his way back to the pits.

In the teams’ result the Buggyra 1969 squad beat the Lowen Power and Tankpool24 Racing pairings to take the silverware.

Anderson Escapes Race Stopping Shunt

The first start was red flagged for 45-minutes at the end of the start of the first lap when Jamie Anderson crashed spectacularly at the final righthand corner.

Anderson was fortunate to escape unharmed from a sizeable accident when his truck speared off the track and crashed in to the barriers.

The British ace climbed out from his severely damaged truck uninjured. Remarkably the Anderson Racing crew repaired the MAN but the herculean efforts were not quite enough and he was unable to re-join the race.

There were consequences too for pole sitter and early race leader Rene Reinert who just as the red flag was unfurled ran through the gravel between the Le Mans and Farina corners while coming under attack from Adam Lacko’s Buggyra Racing Freightliner.

Reinert suffered a left-front puncture and forced to crawl back to the paddock for repairs, while Lacko’s truck was tended to on the grid.

Reinert then re-joined the circuit but did so under red flag conditions and was then instructed to start the race from the pit-lane joining the field at the rear of the grid.

The two remaining races on the 2019 FIA ETRC take place tomorrow afternoon with races schedule to start and 12.50 and 14.50 local time.