Hahn takes home pole at Nürburgring

19 July 2019

Jochen Hahn stormed to his sixth pole position of the season on Friday afternoon at the Nürburgring...

Hahn stormed to his sixth pole position of the season, going fastest in the Super Pole session held on Friday afternoon at the Nürburgring.

The German wasn’t the fastest driver from the off this time around, with free practice sessions held earlier today being topped by Sascha Lenz and Antonio Albacete respectively.

Come qualifying and there was no match for the five-time FIA ETRC champion, who set a time of 1:55.018 aboard his Team Hahn Racing IVECO truck.

Antonio Albacete came a close second by setting a lap just 0.14s off Hahn’s best time.

The second row of the grid will be shared by another of the local aces – Sascha Lenz in his SL Trucksport30 MAN and Hungarian double title winner Norbert Kiss.

The IVECO entries of Steffi Halm [Team Schwabentruck] and André Kursim [Don't Touch Racing] will line up on row three, taking fifth and sixth on the grid.

Title contender and a multiple winner here in the past, Adam Lacko, qualified only seventh in his Buggyra Racing-run Freightliner and will have René Reinert in his navy blue IVECO for company on row four of the grid.

The top ten was rounded out by José Rodrigues of Reboconort Truck Racing Team, and veteran truck racer Gerd Körber who’s making his first FIA ETRC appearance since last year’s ADAC Grand Prix.

By qualifying tenth, Körber achieved something he missed out on last year when started one place down in 11th for the first round of the weekend at the ADAC Truck Grand PRix.

Hahn tops Timed Practice Too

Jochen Hahn was also fastest in the Timed Practice session that determined the top 10 that moved in to the Super Pole session.

On this occasion, Hahn's closest challenger was Sascha Lenz.

Antonio Albacete was a close third, only 0.03s behind Lenz, with fourth being Norbert Kiss' Tankpool24 Racing Mercedes-Benz.

Making the best of their track knowledge, the following places all went to German racers: Andre Kursim, Steffi Halm and Rene Reinert respectively.

Adam Lacko went eighth fastest, one place ahead of José Rodrigues, with Korber completing the top 10.

Anthony Janiec was just outside the top 10, qualifying 11th overall and forming the sixth row of the grid with Shane Brereton, who makes his first FIA ETRC appearance of the season aboard an all-new truck sporting a striking purple livery.

GRAMMER TRUCK CUP pole-sitter Luis Recuenco went 13th fastest for Trucksport Lutz Bernau and the Spaniard will have Thomas Robineau alongside him on the grid.

Youngster Teo Calvet qualified an impressive 15th in the second of the Lion Truck Racing's MANs, one place head of GRAMMER TRUCK CUP points leader Oly Janes in the second of the Buggyra Racing's Freightliners.

The ninth row of the grid will be shared by British racers driving MAN challengers, Terry Gibbon and Jamie Anderson.

Fabio Citignola qualified 19th with his Team Tankpool24 Racing Mercedes-Benz truck. The top 20 was rounded out by another driver returning to the FIA ETRC for the first time this season - Erwin Kleinnagelvoort in his familiar white Scania.

The following place went to José Eduardo Rodrigues, Clemens Hecker, Franck Conti, Anthony Janiec's sister, Jennifer Janiec, and Frankie Vojtisek being the final qualifier in 25th place overall.