Slovakiaring Preview: Who Can Hunt Down Hahn?

1 July 2019

Jochen Hahn has opened up a 23 points gap after eight races.....who can close it?

The FIA European Truck Racing Championship moves east to the challenging Slovakiaring circuit near Bratislava this weekend with four more closely fought races to be contested.

The FIA ETRC first arced at the Slovakian circuit in 2017 and has become a popular and permanent fixture in the pan-European calendar ever since.

Popular with drivers and fans alike, the track is the longest which the ETRC protagonists compete on during the season.

Last season saw four dramatic races which produced four different winners – Jochen Hahn, Antonio Albacete, Shane Brereton and Norbert Kiss.

For 2019 the competition will be tougher than ever with Hahn having scored 50% of the wins so far this season. In so doing, the five times ETRC champion has opened up a 23 point gap over rival Antonio Albacete in the standings.

As well as Hahn and Albacete, Norbert Kiss will be aiming to add another Slovakiaring victory to his tally of three wins in the last two years at the Slovakiaring track.

The Tankpool24 Racing competitor will be aiming to take his Mercedes-Benz truck to new heights this weekend and close the gap to Hahn.

Steffi Halm took a win on Slovakian soil back in 2017 and will be striving for a first success of the present season in her Team Schwabentruck IVECO.

Rene Reinert made his Slovakiaring debut last July and will be tackling it for the first time with IVECO hardware this weekend. Always a threat over the course of a weekend, the engaging German will be looking to move up the points table from his current fifth position.

Adam Lacko has suffered a disappointing start to his 2019 campaign after one of his worst ever race weekend’s last time out at Hungaroring.

His Buggyra Racing team described the experience as a ‘Horror’ and the Cech ace will be aiming to put behind him the issues which cost him valuable momentum throughout the four races in Hungary.

Two of the FIA ETRC’s most impressive young German chargers – Andre Kursim and Sascha Lenz will again be in contention for at least podium positions after taking a win apiece at Hungaroring.

While Lenz swept to success in the second race in Hungary with his SL Tucksport30 machine, Kursim delighted team boss Sven Walter with a fine win in the final race aboard his Don’t Touch Racing IVECO.

GRAMMER Game Gets Gripping!

With multiple winners in the previous eight races, the 2019 GRAMMER TRUCK CUP looks set to become a classic title battle. 

Oly Janes currently leads the category after proving to be the most consistent so far this season in his Buggyra Racing Freightliner.

Janes has had to contend with intense pressure from a variety of competitors, none more so than fellow British racer Jamie Anderson.

Anderson has built on the promise shown in his rookie season in 2018 to become a genuine title contender in his Anderson Racing MAN.

A double success at Hungaroring last month ensured that Anderson secures third in the standings and is now 31 points from Janes.

Between the two members of the ETRC Britpack is Luis Recueno, who like Anderson, has become a more potent force in 2019.

In the green and white Trucksport Lutz Bernau machine, Recuenco has added consistency to his speed and is starting to mount a credible title challenge.

Fabio Citignola has scored podiums so far in his first ever FIA ETRC campaign in his Tankpool24 Racing Mercedes-Benz and will be out to secure a first GRAMMER win as soon as he can.

Still learning the ropes, the 20 year-old has impressed so far as gets to grips with the racing beasts of Europe.

Also on show at Slovakiaring will be Eduardo Rodrigues (Reboconort) as the Portuguese veteran aims to grab a podium to the few he achieved in 2018.

Frankie Vojtisek and the Czech Truck Racing Team make a return to the track this weekend when the experienced Vojtisek makes his first appearance since the Jarama last October.

Follow all the action at the race with live timing and live text commentary HERE

Get the latest points standings after eight races HERE

Click HERE for the Entry List 

The Full Timetable is HERE