7 October 2018

Hahn Eases to Race 3 Win

Hahn Eases to Race 3 Win

Jochen Hahn swept to another supreme FIA European Truck Racing Championship victory in the penultimate race of the 2018 season at Jarama.

The recently crowned champion controlled the 12-lap encounter in his Hahn Racing IVECO to notch up a remarkable 12thwin of the year.

Hahn was able to hold fellow front-row starter Antonio Albacete at bay in the early stages and open up a small gap over the hometown hero. This steadily became more substantial with Hahn able to execute his famous power slide at the final corner and claim the win by just over a second.

Adam Lacko took third position in his Buggyra International Racing System Freightliner but was unable to get on terms and threaten Albacete’s second position.

Norbert Kiss initially held fourth place but was overtaken by Sascha Lenz’s SL Trucksport MAN on lap six. The Tankpool24 Racing Mercedes-Benz driver started to lose pace and was forced to pull off the track and retire on lap eight.

Lenz went on to take fourth position and maintain his remarkable run of scoring points in each of the 31 races held so far this season. 

Rene Reinert placed fifth after overtaking Jose Rodrigues mid-race. Yesterday’s race two victor however was unable to hunt down Lenz’s fourth placed truck, while Rodriguez was classified in sixth.

Steffi Halm completed a rather lonely race in seventh in her Team Schwabentruck IVECO ahead of Shane Brereton who took another semi-reverse grid pole position for the final race of 2018 later this afternoon.

Andre Kursim crossed the finish line in ninth place but was placed under investigation along with Anthony Janiec after the pair made contact on two separate occasions earlier in the race. The second of these resulted in Janiec running wide and losing several positions in his Lion Truck Racing MAN.

Janiec eventually finished 11thafter his recovery drive from the contact with Kursim.

The GRAMMER TRUCK Cup saw Brereton take yet another win as he dominated proceedings in his TOR MAN entry. 

Oly Janes took second position for Buggyra International Racing System after he capitalised on 10-second overspeeding penalties for both Steffen Faas (Tankpool24 Racing) and Jamie Anderson (Anderson Racing MAN).

These penalties also opened up a podium position for Terry Gibbon who put behind him a troubled Saturday to claim third position for the British T Sport team.

Luis Recuenco’s Trucksport Lutz Bernau MAN took fourth in the GRAMMER TRUCK CUP once again ahead. This was despite a brush with Jamie Anderson earlier in the race. The penalised Faas and Anderson took fifth and sixth in class after their penalties were applied

Eduardo Rodrigues took seventh in class ahead of the waring Erwin Kleinnagelvoort (EK Race Scania) and Ray Coleman (LRS MAN). This pair re-ignited their scrap from Saturday’s second race and made contact during the encounter ensuring it was investigated by the stewards after the race.

Dutch racer Frans Smiths claimed 10thin GRAMMER ahead of Spanish race-by-race entrant Pedro Marco and the youngest driver in the race, 19 year-old Jose-Eduardo Rodrigues (Reboconort).

The teams’ win was claimed by the partnership of Hahn and Halm for the Die Bullen von IVECO Magirus squad.

The fourth and final race of the 2018 FIA ETRC season is due to start at 16.25 local time.

Race Result HERE


  • FIA
  • Goodyear
  • Mercedes
  • Grammer
  • Arconic Wheel and Transportation Products
  • Ford Trucks
  • Iveco
  • SWL