Hahn takes sixth pole of the season at Le Mans

30 September 2018

Jochen Hahn made a significant step toward an historic fifth title by clinching his sixth pole....

Jochen Hahn aboard his Team Hahn Racing IVECO made a significant step toward an historic fifth title by clinching his sixth pole position of the season at Le Mans Bugatti this morning.

Yesterday’s polesitter Sascha Lenz initially went fastest in his SL Trucsport MAN but Hahn managed to get the better of him as the session was coming to an end.

Ryan Smith, returning this weekend to the FIA ETRC action with his trusted MAN, qualified an impressive third and will be joined on the second row of the grid by yesterday’s winner André Kursim in his Don’t Touch Racing IVECO.

Norbert Kiss (Team Tankpool24 Racing/Mercedes-Benz), went fifth fastest and will start with Portuguese José Rodriges, driving a Rebeconort MAN, alongside him. Crucially for Kiss, his closest rival in the battle for third in the championship, Antonio Albacete, is all the way down in ninth.

Adam Lacko (Buggyra International Racing System/Freightliner), the only man who mathematically can still deny Hahn from winning a fifth crown, only managed seventh.

Steffi Halm driving her Team Schwabentruck IVECO will start eighth. The top ten was rounded out by GRAMMER TRUCK CUP points leader and double winner yesterday Shane Brereton in his TOR Truck Racing MAN.

Lacko tops ultra-tight Timed Practice

Adam Lacko went fastest of all in an extremely tight timed practice session, where the top four runners were covered by just 0.1s.

Lacko set 2:06. 572, with Kursim 0.071s behind, Hahn 0.075s and Smith 0.088s off in fourth.

Lenz went fifth fastest ahead of Albacete, Kiss, Halm and first of the GRAMMER TRUCK CUP participants, Shane Brereton in ninth. The Top 10 was rounded out by José Rodrigues.

11th overall went to Rene Reinert, driving his self-run MAN. The German was the first driver to miss out on the Super Pole session.

Reinert and Halm were fighting till the end for a place  and it was Halm who managed to go eighth fastest, pushing her former boss and nemesis from yesterday's controversial race two out of top ten.

Jamie Anderson (Anderson Racing/MAN) will start 12th overall and second in the GRAMMER TRUCK CUP, three places down on his compatriot Shane Brereton.

The following places went to Oly Janes (Buggyra International Racing System), Luis Recencuo (Truck Sport Lutz Bernau), Steffen Faas (Team Tankpool24 Racing), Terry Gibbon (T-Sport), Frankie Vojtisek (Czech Truck Racing Team), Erwin Kleinnagelvoor (EK Trucksport/), Ray Coleman (LRS) and Eduardo Rodrigues (Reboconort).

Race 3 is scheduled for 13:40 local time. For full session results click here.