Albacete Takes Emphatic Race One Win

15 September 2018

Antonio Albacete takes a crushing win in race one at Zolder...

Antonio Albacete claimed his third win of the 2018 FIA European Truck Racing Championship season at Zolder this afternoon,

The Spaniard converted pole position to take a comfortable win in his Trucksport Lutz Bernau MAN heading home Adam Lacko in the 12-lap encounter. His Zolder win added to his successes at Nürburgring and Slovakia Ring earlier this season.

Albacete made a perfect start and was able to extend his lead during the race while behind him Adam Lacko and Jochen battled intensely over second position.

The Buggyra International Racing System Freightliner driver was able to overtake his German rival on the opening lap but Hahn soon started to apply huge pressure.

Despite several attempts to find a way by, Lacko held on to the position to ensure he chipped away at Hahn’s title points lead which now stands at 45 points with 11 races remaining.

Norbert Kiss took fourth place for Tankpool24 Racing after overtaking both Andre Kursim and Rene Reinert during the race despite losing a sizeable part of his front bodywork.

Reinert took fifth position just ahead of Sascha Lenz (SL Trucksport) and Steffi Halm (Team Schwabentruck IVECO).

Taking the reverse grid position in eighth was Andre Kursim who is now set to attempt return to his 2017 triumph when he claimed his maiden FIA ETRC victory.

Jose Rodrigues attempted to take the pole away from Kursim but had to settle for ninth position at the chequered flag.

In the GRAMMER TRUCK CUP it was Steffen Faas who seemed like he would emerge victorious after a well-judged first half of the race.

However, when the German started smoking badly at the start of lap eight he was forced to pull off the track and retire.

This handed the win to Shane Brereton and the Brit gladly took another maximum 20-points to stretch out his lead over a bitterly disappointed Faas in the standings.

Oly Janes had initially hounded Brereton in the early running but dropped back and was forced to settle for second position.

Taking his first ever GRAMMER TRUCK CUP podium was Jose-Eduardo Rodrigues. The teen racer was even able to pressure Janes in the final portion of the race.

Luis Recuenco took fourth place in category ahead of Jamie Anderson who was forced to pit during the race and Erwin Kleinnagelvoort who was also penalised.

Ray Coleman too took an early drive-through penalty for overspeeding and was classified 16th and the final finisher.

Race Result HERE