Lacko claims second pole of the season at Slovakia Ring

14 July 2018

Adam Lacko claims 'a home-ish pole' at Slovakia Ring....

Adam Lacko claimed his second pole of the season at what is almost his home race at Slovakia Ring this morning.

The Czech racer in his Freightliner run by Buggyra International Racing System went quickest of all, setting 2:44.014. The pole sitter from the Nurburgring, Antonio Albacete was his closest rival, 0.227s adrift aboard his Truck Sport Lutz Bernau MAN machine.

Two IVECO trucks in the hands of German racers will form row two of the grid, with Jochen Hahn in third and Steffi Halm in fourth.

Norbert Kiss in his Team Tankpool24 Racing Mercedes-Benz clinched fifth thanks to his late attempt and he will have Sascha Lenz (SL Trucksport/MAN) for company on row two of the grid.

Despite having his first lap time cancelled due to exceeding track limits, André Kursim, in his Don’t Touch Racing IVECO, qualified seventh, one place ahead of Shane Brereton who was quickest in the GRAMMER TRUCK CUP.

Frankie Vojtisek, who’s still getting to grips with his truck following the fire at Misano, put his Czech Truck Racing Team MAN ninth on the grid and second in the GRAMMER TRUCK CUP.

Rene Reinert in the MAN run by his own Reinert Racing team rounded out the top ten, with his qualifying effort being compromised by one lap time being cancelled for exceeding truck limits.


Steffi Halm topped the timing screens in the Timed Practice, which was held directly before and determing top finishers who go through to the Super Pole session. The Team Schwabentruck driver recorded 2:43.497 on her first attempt in her IVECO machine.

Jochen Hahn, aboard a similar machine, went second quickest, only 00.161s shy off Halm’s time. Antonio Albacete was third, ahead of Adam Lacko, Rene Reinert, Sascha Lenz, Andre Kursim, Norbert Kiss, Shane Brereton and Frankie Vojtisek.

11th overall, and the first one amongst those who didn’t advance to the Super Pole session was Oly Janes in the second of the Freightliners run by Buggyra International Racing System. He edged out Steffen Faas (Team Tankpool24 Racing/Mercedes-Benz), Erwin Kleinnagelvoort (EK Trucksport/Scania), Ray Coleman (LRS Racing/MAN) and Luis Recuenco (Truck Sport Lutz Bernau/MAN). 

Faas and Recuenco had their quickest lap times cancelled due to track limits violations.

For full results click here.