1 July 2018

Hahn dominates qualifying with sensational lap

Hahn dominates qualifying with sensational lap

Points leader Jochen Hahn took his fourth pole position of his 2018 FIA European Truck Racing Championship campaign this morning setting the best ever time for trucks around the Nürburgring’s Grand Prix loop.

Hahn started the session off on a high, being the first driver ever to set a lap under 1:54, recording 1:53.788.

On his second run he improved even further, going down to 1:53.331 in his Team Hahn Racing run IVECO. Three more drivers managed to go under 1:54, with yesterday’s polesitter Antonio Albacete joining Hahn on front row of the grid.

Norbert Kiss in his Team Tankpoll24 Racing Mercedes-Benz and Rene Reinert aboard the Reinert Racing MAN will share the second row of the grid.

Reigning champion Adam Lacko will start Race 3 in his Freightliner run by Buggyra International Racing System from fifth position, with yesterday’s Race 2 winner Steffi Halm alongside in her Team Schwabentruck IVECO.

Seventh on the grid went to Sascha Lenz (SL Trucksport/MAN), who will start ahead of André Kursim (Don’t Touch Racing/IVECO).

José Rodrigues (Reboconrte/MAN) and Ryan Smith (Team OXXO Hungary Truck Racing/MAN) completed the top ten.

Reinert sets the pace in Timed Practice

Rene Reinert topped the earlier Timed Practice running which set the top ten for the later Super Pole session.

Hahn and Smith were initially tenth and 11th respectively, endangering themselves to not making it thorough to the Super Pole session but a late attempt moved both to second and third.

That, in turn, moved down Halm from second to fourth, with Lenz, José Rodrigues, Lacko, Kursim, Albacete and Kiss completing the top ten.

Anthony Janiec, who finished on the podium here last year, was the first one who missed out on the Super Pole session by just 0.054s.

Gerd Körber, who finished an excellent second in Race 2 yesterday will start 12th in second of the Team Schwabentruck IVECOs.

13th went to Shane Brereton (TOR Truck Racing/MAN), who went fastest amongst the GRAMMER TRUCK CUP participants.

The following places went to: Thomas Robineau (Team Robineau MAN), Luis Recuenco (Truck Sport Lutz Bernau MAN), Steffen Faas (Team Tankpool24 Racing/Mercedes-Benz), Frankie Vojtisek (Czech Truck Racing Team MAN), Oly Janes (Buggyra International Racing System Freightliner), Teo Calvet (Lion Truck Racing MAN). Eduardo Rodrigues (Reboconorte MAN), Terry Gibbon (T-Sport MAN) and Erwin Kleinnagelvoort, who will start from the back aboard his EK Racing Scania.

Race 3 is scheduled to take place at 11.50 local time.

For full qualifying results click here.


  • FIA
  • Goodyear
  • Mercedes
  • Krone
  • Grammer
  • Arconic Wheel and Transportation Products