8 October 2017

Kiss Converts Pole to Take Sixth Win of Season

Kiss Converts Pole to Take Sixth Win of Season

Norbert Kiss took a commanding victory in race three at Jarama this afternoon to net his sixth victory of the 2017 FIA European Truck Racing Championship season.

Pole sitter Kiss led newly crowned champion Adam Lacko from the start and was able to pull out a healthy advantage immediately.

The Hungarian double champion effectively won the race in the opening laps and was able to thereafter control his pace and win comfortably.

Behind him there was action aplenty as new champion Adam Lacko had to fend off the advances of Jochen Hahn who looked for a way passed his Czech rival at an early stage. The pressure told on lap two when Hahn slipped through in his Hahn Racing Iveco.

This meant the main action in the race then came from the battle for the final podium position.

Lacko defended stoutly from Antonio Albacete (Truck Sport Lutz Bernau MAN), Steffi Halm (Reinert Racing MAN) and David Vrsecky (Buggyra Freightliner).

This scrap entertained the large Spanish crowd but there was little in the way of change in the order until Steffi Halm but a decisive move on Albacete at the hairpin on lap seven to snatch fourth position.

Albacete dropped further back down the order, eventually taking the chequered flag in eighth position to net the reverse grid pole.

An all-German fight, which was initially for seventh position, saw Sascha Lenz and Gerd Korber battle gamely. However, it was the SL Trucksport MAN driver who headed home his Team Schwabentruck adversary for sixth position.

Sealing the first ever Promoter’s Cup title, Jose Rodrigues did it in style by taking a second victory of the weekend in his Reboconorte MAN. This was despite pressure from Andre Kursim throughout the 12-lap encounter. This pressure eased though after half distance and the Portuguese ace was able to take a relatively comfortable victory. The pair also completed the top ten overall.

There was more disappointment for Frankie Vojtisek as he pulled off after just a lap with a major mechanical issue.

This left Erwin Kleinnagelvoort (EK Race Scania) and Eduardo Rodrigues (Reboconorte MAN) to take 11th and 12th.

In the teams result it was the Tankpool24 Racing duo of Kiss and Kursim which headed Buggyra Racing’s Lacko and Vrsecky alliance.

The fourth and final race at Jarama this weekend is scheduled to begin at 15.10 local time.



  • FIA
  • Goodyear
  • Mercedes
  • Krone
  • Grammer
  • Arconic Wheel and Transportation Products
  • Sermec