27 August 2017

Lacko holds off Kiss in tense race three

Lacko holds off Kiss in tense race three

Adam Lacko took his second victory of the weekend at Hungaroring after holding off local favourite Norbert Kiss throughout an enthralling race three this afternoon.

The current championship leader stretched his advantage as he chases a first FIA ETRC title by taking the lead from pole sitter Norbert Kiss at turn three on the first tour of the 11-lap encounter.

It was Lacko’s eighth win of the 2017 season and he soaked up the close advances of Kiss who was cheered on by another large home crowd.

It wasn’t quite enough though for another victory on his home patch and it Lacko who took the chequered flag a mere 0.765s ahead of his rival.

Steffi Halm claimed another podium position in her Reinert Racing MAN to close up the gap to Jochen Hahn for third position in the points standings.

Halm came under some pressure from Antonio Albacete’s Truck Sport Lutz Bernau MAN throughout the race and with Jochen Hahn making it a three-way battle, Halm remained unflustered and was in fact able to keep in touch with the two leaders.

Albacete managed to hold over Hahn to the flag after the reigning champion fell back in the later stages, while behind a train comprising Shane Brereton, Sascha Lenz, Gerd Körber and Jose Rodrigues entertained the crowd by running nose to tail for much of the race.

The Promoter’s Cup witnessed Shane Brereton grab another win after he was able to enjoy the buffer of Sascha Lenz and Gerd Körber between his own MAN and Jose Rodrigues.

Promoter’s Cup points leader André Kursim shook off some early race contact to claim the final place on the Promoter’s Cup podium.

David Vršecký took the final point for 10th position in his Buggyra International Racing Freightliner.

The two retirements from the race were Ryan Smith who pulled off with a damaged tyre and a water leak, while Erwin Kleinnagelvoort also pulled off at the beginning of the race after rear-ending the unfortunate Smith going in to turn one.

The British driver continued his successful weekend in what must now be considered to be a breakthrough performance from the relatively inexperienced truck racer.

The FIA European Truck Racing Championship Teams victory went to the Buggyra 1969 axis of Lacko and Vršecký, while Team Reinert Adventures came in second after Halm and Lenz’s efforts.

The fourth and final race will begin today at 16.00 local time.

Follow all the action live HERE


  • FIA
  • Goodyear
  • Mercedes
  • Krone
  • Grammer
  • Arconic Wheel and Transportation Products