2 July 2017

Norbert Kiss claims his first Super Pole of the year

Norbert Kiss claims his first Super Pole of the year

Norbert Kiss and Antonio Albacete - two drivers involved in a collision in the second of Saturday’s races were the pace-setters in the Super Pole session held this morning, with the Hungarian just claiming his first Super Pole of the 2017 FIA European Truck Racing Season.

The Tankpool24 Racing Mercedes-Benz driver initially recording 1:54.725 and his closest rival, Albacete, in the Truck Sport Lutz Bernau MAN being just 0.099s down on his time. But it was local man Jochen Hahn who performed a late lunge with just seconds remaining in the session to claim second, a mere 0.051s and push Albacete down to third on the grid.

Fourth fastest was Adam Lacko, who took a clean sweep yesterday – Super Pole, both race wins and fastest laps – but this time around the much-improved conditions appeared to level the playing field.

David Vršecký in the second of the Buggyra International Racing System Freightliners qualified just behind his team-mate and will have Steffi Halm in Reinert Racing MAN for company on row three of the grid.

Row four of the grid was taken by MAN drivers, with Sascha Lenz in the SL Trucksport entry being joined by the similar machine entered by Lion Truck Racing Team for Frenchman Anthony Janiec.

Yesterday’s podium finisher Gerd Körber qualified ninth, with his compatriot André Kursim alongside him. The Tankpool24 racer also topped the Promoter’s Cup category with his closest rival José Rodrigues starting 12th after being knocked out in the earlier timed practice.

Timed Practice

The timed practice held prior to the Super Pole session determined the quickest ten to go through. The session saw the same protagonists setting the tone, with Norbert Kiss topping the timing screens ahead of Antonio Albacete and Adam Lacko.

One driver who performed significantly better compared to his Super Pole performance was Anthony Janiec, who went fourth quickest, just 0.011s quicker than reigning champion Jochen Hahn.

David Vršecký was sixth fastest, with Steffi Halm Gerd Körber, Sascha Lenz and André Kursim completing the top ten.

Just 0.204s covered Kursim, Jeremy Robineau and José Rodrigues in the Promoter’s Cup category, but it was the local man Kursim who came out on top.


  • FIA
  • Goodyear
  • Mercedes
  • Krone
  • Grammer
  • Arconic Wheel and Transportation Products
  • Sermec