28 May 2017

Lacko takes Race Three win and title lead

Lacko takes Race Three win and title lead

Adam Lacko took his second victory of the weekend at Misano this afternoon after a textbook drive to claim the lead in the 2017 FIA European Truck Racing Championship standings.

The Buggyra International Racing System driver converted his pole position to a maximum 25-point score with a commanding win. It was Lacko’s fourth win in five races at Misano over the last 12 months.

Apart from a brief challenge from fellow front row starter, Jochen Hahn, in the opening three corners, Lacko was able to pull clear and then extend a  gap to second place finisher Norbert Kiss. The Czech driver won by a comfortable 3.5s.

Kiss, driving his Tankpool24 Racing Mercedes-Benz, was able to make his way past Hahn after yesterday’s race two winner appeared to slow on the opening lap. The problem ensured reigning champion pitted on lap four for technical checks. The Hahn Racing Iveco driver returned to the race and finished an eventual eighth to ensure pole position on the reverse grid for race four.

Kiss was able to have a comfortable run to the runners-up position as he achieved a healthy gap to the chasing pack. Heading this group was Antonio Albacete (Truck Sport Lutz Bernau). The Spaniard enjoyed a race long battle with Steffi Halm (Reinert Racing), who finished the race just 1.3s behind the triple-champion in fourth position.

An equally entertaining battle raged for fifth place between German pair Sascha Lenz (SL Trucksport MAN) and Gerd Körber (Team Schwaben-Truck Iveco). Lenz was unable to hold off his experienced countryman in the final stages though after Körber made a decisive pass on lap 10.

However, Körber was penalised for overspeeding on the penultimate lap and had 10-seconds added to his finishing time which saw his hard work wiped out as he was classified sixth behind Lenz.

In the Promoter’s Cup category, Thomas Robineau claimed victory after an accomplished drive today. The Frenchman won by a huge margin after early leader José Rodrigues (Reboconorte MAN) was forced to pit with a mechanical issue early on. When André Kursim (Tankpool24 Racing Mercedes-Benz) was handed two drive-through penalties for abusing track limits, it left Robineau unchallenged to score his first Promoter’s Cup victory and seventh spot overall.

Placing second in the Promoter’s Cup was Slovenia’s Enes Draganovic in his Buggyra International Racing System Freightliner. The FIA ETRC debutant drove a solid race to also claim a fine ninth position overall.

Claiming the final point and also the bottom step of the Promoter’s Cup was Eduardo Rodrigues in his Reboconorte MAN. The oldest driver on the grid drove a clean race despite being handed a penalty in the latter stages.

Finishing just outside the points in Race Three were the delayed Kursim in 11th, Dominique Orsini in 12th and José Rodrigues who came in last after his early pit stop.

The sixth race in the 2017 FIA European Truck Racing Championship Teams’ Championship was claimed by the combination of Buggyra Racing 1969 duo of Adam Lacko and Enes Draganovic. 

The fourth and final race of the Misano weekend is due to start at 15.20 local time.

Follow the race by following live timing and text HERE


  • FIA
  • Goodyear
  • Mercedes
  • Krone
  • Grammer
  • Arconic Wheel and Transportation Products
  • Sermec