17 September 2016

Lacko beats Hahn to claim fifth pole of the season

Lacko beats Hahn to claim fifth pole of the season

Adam Lacko claimed his fifth pole position of the season in Saturday’s Super Pole session at Circuit Zolder with a fastest time of 1min57.707s. The Buggyra International Racing System driver, who had been fastest in the second free practice session and warm up, edged out championship rival Jochen Hahn by 0.126s.

Both drivers were 1.2 seconds quicker than their Q1 times, but despite setting the fastest time in sector 3 on his final lap Hahn was unable to beat his rival’s time and had to settle for second place on the grid.

René Reinert was third fastest in the Super Pole session, 0.388s behind the pole setting Freightliner. The German driver will line up alongside the Lion Truck Racing MAN of Frenchman Anthony Janiec.

Steffi Halm secured fifth on the grid with her last lap. She will share the third row with the Tankpool 24 Racing Mercedes-Benz of last year’s double race winner Norbert Kiss.

The Team Schwabentruck Iveco of Gerd Koerber will start the race from seventh on the grid, with the second Buggyra Freightliner of Jiri Forman completing the fourth row.

André Kursim reached his first Super Pole session of the season, but finished tenth behind the S.L. Racing Team Germany MAN of Sascha Lenz.

Lacko also fastest in qualifying practice

Adam Lacko was also the fastest driver in the qualifying practice which set the top ten for the Super Pole session. The Czech managed to lap the Zolder circuit in 1min58.985s on his first lap, beating Jochen Hahn by just 0.087s.

Reinert Racing drivers Steffi Halm and René Reinert were third and fourth fastest, ahead of the Iveco of Gerd Koerber. Anthony Janiec followed in sixth place, with Norbert Kiss seventh.

Sascha Lenz qualified in eighth place, ahead of Jiri Forman. Two minutes from the end of the session André Kursim put his Mercedes-Benz in tenth place, pushing Thomas Robineau out of the top ten.

Robineau eventually had his fastest lap cancelled, which means he will start from 12th on the grid, behind Ellen Lohr.

Erwin Klein Nagelvoort will line up in 13th place, ahead of Eduardo Rodrigues and John Hemming.

The start of the first race of the weekend is scheduled for 14:00 local time this afternoon. To follow all the action via live timing and text updates, visit our Race Centre here.



  • FIA
  • Goodyear
  • Mercedes
  • Grammer
  • Arconic Wheel and Transportation Products